Beaconsfield 11 Plus Tuition Courses

Skip to term dates >

Ready to give your child a helping hand in the 11 Plus?

Register now

The Sir John Madejski Scholarship

What you can expect for your child on our 11 Plus Course in Beaconsfield

We develop pupils’ knowledge so they’re equipped to answer a broad range of challenging verbal, mathematical and non-verbal reasoning questions.

Small class sizes

All our Beaconsfield11 Plus classes are limited in size (less than half the size of most independent school lessons), which means that your child will have valuable one-to-one attention with their fully qualified teacher. Discover the proven benefits of small class sizes.

Assessment

Your child is assessed twice during each team – at half term and at the end of term. This means that we can check they’ve achieved their individual targets and devise a Tuition Plan that suits their needs and challenges. We’ll share all assessment results and Tuition Plans with you and you’re more than welcome to discuss them with us.

Marie Redmond Tuition ‘Bag of Knowledge®’

Resource Pack for Marie Redmond Tuition 11 Plus Courses in Buckinghamshire and SloughAt the start of the course, your child will receive a Bag of Knowledge® containing their class and homework books. This includes selected Marie Redmond’s Superbrain® resources, in addition to books that are carefully curated each year from a wide range of reputable publishers. All our students are presented with their books in a Marie Redmond Tuition® rucksack, featuring an electronic thesaurus, notebook and a pencil case containing pencils, an eraser and sharpener. The cost of your child’s Bag of Knowledge® is covered within the monthly course fees.

Marie Redmond’s Superbrain®

Our range of Marie Redmond’s Superbrain® Books are provided exclusively to Year 5 students and will be expanding to Year 4 from autumn 2022.Marie Redmond's Superbrain® 11+ Flashcards packaging Using the knowledge gained during her ten years of preparing students for the 11+ and independent school entrance exams, Marie Redmond MEd has written a number of instructional verbal reasoning and maths books. The verbal reasoning holiday course books are provided exclusively to students attending our 11+ Easter and 11+ summer holiday courses; the verbal reasoning and maths books are provided exclusively to students enrolled on our Year 5 term-time courses. Marie Redmond’s Superbrain® 11 Plus Flash Cards are given to all our term time students when they join, to supercharge their vocabulary skills.

Our Expanded Range of Marie Redmond’s Superbrain® Books for Year 5 Courses Starting in September 2022

Marie Redmond's Superbrain® Verbal Reasoning and Maths Books

Homework

11+ homework at Marie Redmond TuitionTo help reinforce skills taught during the 11 Plus tuition course, we’ll provide homework at the end of each lesson – with reviews of each topic in the following session. This gives pupils the opportunity to ask any questions on areas they may have struggled with. As reading comprehension and vocabulary are such important parts of the 11 Plus exams, we recommend that parents encourage their children to read as wide a range of fiction and non-fiction books as possible.

The Marie Redmond Tuition® Book Club

Marie Redmond Tuition Book ClubSharing our enjoyment of books is a fantastic way to encourage reading and therefore develop vocabulary and comprehension at home. The Marie Redmond Tuition® Book Club is an excellent platform for discussions about books, opportunities for creativity and promoting reading for pleasure. Discover our book of the month.

Creative Writing Course

11+ Creative Writing Course for the Reading School entrance exam

The virtual creative writing course is taught by our experienced teacher, Anne, who has an immense passion for reading and writing and leads our Book Club, in addition to teaching 11+ courses. This option is particularly useful for boys preparing for the Reading School 11+ exam but is open to all our students.

Students attend one creative writing lesson per week on Zoom, which lasts for 45 minutes. During every lesson they participate in a fun writing skills warm-up activity which might focus on grammar or a literary device, they might read and analyse a writing example or use a story prompt, and then work on creating their own text.

Every week there is a focus which can include story settings, characters, openings, events / problems and resolutions.Marie Redmond's Superbrain® Creative Writing Notebook Students practise writing in a variety of formats such as stories, plays, newspaper articles and letters. They are taught to use a variety of literary techniques and we show them how to draft their work, as well as reviewing and editing.

Homework is set every week. Students build upon the tasks in their lesson to create their own text. The texts are then reviewed at the start of the next lesson.

One lesson per week on Zoom, lasting 45 minutes. Tuesdays at 5.30pm or 6.30pm.

For further information, including fees, term dates and FAQ’s, please visit our creative writing course page.

Beaconsfield 11 Plus Course Fees

We offer a straightforward monthly payment plan for our 11 Plus Courses in Beaconsfield, which you can see on our fees page.

11 Plus Holiday Courses in Beaconsfield

Our 4-day Easter Course takes place in Amersham, Beaconsfield and Stoke Poges. Our 5-day 11 Plus Summer Courses take place in Amersham, Beaconsfield, High Wycombe, Reading (Winnersh) and Stoke Poges. The holiday courses concentrate on exam techniques and skills gaps, with educational games playing an integral part so that children remain engaged throughout. The summer courses include a mock exam on the final day.

Ready to give your child a helping hand in the 11 Plus?

Register now

What do the 11 Plus Beaconsfield Courses focus on?

Verbal skills

  • Comprehension
  • Verbal reasoning (the production of words, relationships between words, letters and numbers)
  • Vocabulary
  • Spelling
  • Grammar
  • Punctuation

Mathematical skills

  • Basic skills (addition, multiplication, division and subtraction)
  • Mental maths development
  • Problem solving techniques
  • Extracting information from graphs and tables
  • Averages
  • Foundation algebra concepts
  • Fractions, decimals and percentages
  • Ratio and proportion
  • Area and volume
  • 2d and 3d shapes

Non-verbal skills

  • Spatial awareness
  • Logical deduction skills
  • Mathematical concepts such as symmetry, rotation and reflection
  • Identifying relationships, similarities and differences between figures
  • Identifying sequences between shapes

11 Plus Beaconsfield Term Dates

Summer Term 2022 Autumn Term 2022 Spring Term 2023 Summer Term 2023
Monday 25th April
Saturday 30th April
Saturday 17th September
Monday 19th September
Tuesday 3rd January in place of usual Monday class
due to bank holiday

Saturday 7th January
Monday 17th April
Saturday 22nd April
Tuesday 3rd May in place of usual Monday class
due to bank holiday

Saturday 7th May
Saturday 24th September
Monday 26th September
Monday 9th January
Saturday 14th January
Monday 24th April
Saturday 29th April
Monday 9th May
Saturday 14th May
Saturday 1st October
Monday 3rd October
Monday 16th January
Saturday 21st January
Tuesday 2nd May in place of usual Monday class
due to bank holiday

Saturday 6th May
Monday 16th May
Saturday 21st May
Saturday 8th October
Monday 10th October
Monday 23rd January
Saturday 28th January
Monday 8th May
Saturday 13th May
Monday 23rd May
Saturday 28th May
Saturday 15th October
Monday 17th October
Wednesday 30th January
Saturday 4th February
Monday 15th May
Saturday 20th May
Half Term (no lesson) Half Term (no lesson) Half Term (no lesson)
Half Term (no lesson)
Monday 6th June
Saturday 11th June
Half Term (no lesson) Half Term (no lesson)
Half Term (no lesson)
Monday 13th June
Saturday 18th June
Saturday 5th November
Monday 7th November
Monday 20th February
Saturday 25th February
Monday 5th June
Saturday 10th June
Monday 20th June
Saturday 25th June
Saturday 12th November
Monday 14th November
Monday 27th February
Saturday 4th March
Monday 12th June
Saturday 17th June
Monday 27th June
Saturday 2nd July
Saturday 19th November
Monday 21st November
Monday 6th March
Saturday 11th March
Monday 19th June
Saturday 24th June
Monday 4th July
Saturday 9th July
Saturday 26th November
Monday 28th November
Monday 13th March
Saturday 18th March
Monday 26th June
Saturday 1st July
Monday 11th July
Saturday 16th July
Saturday 3rd December
Monday 5th December
Monday 20th March
Saturday 25th March
Monday 3rd July
Saturday 8th July
Summer Holidays:
2022 11+ Summer Course
Saturday 10th December
Monday 12th December
Easter Holidays:
2023 Easter 11+ Course
Monday 10th July
Saturday 15th July
Year 5 Pre-exam refresher lesson:
Saturday 27th August
Monday 29th August
Summer Holidays:
2023 11+ Summer Course
Year 5 Pre-exam refresher lesson:
Tuesday 29th August in place of usual Monday class due to bank holiday
Wednesday 30th August
Thursday 31st August

How to find our Beaconsfield 11 Plus Tuition Centre

11+ Mock Exams With Marie Redmond 11+ Intelligent Video Learning®

Buckinghamshire, Slough, Reading and Kendrick 11 Plus mock exams in Amersham, Aylesbury, Beaconsfield, Langley and Stoke PogesGet exam ready with Marie Redmond Tuition® GL and CEM-style 11 Plus Mock Exams for the Buckinghamshire, Slough and Kendrick exams.

Students who sat our mock exams in 2021 said they were very similar to the actual GL Assessment and CEM tests, which made them feel prepared and confident when sitting the exam.

Ready to give your child a helping hand in the 11 Plus?

Register now
Exclusive tips