Creative Writing Course

11+ Creative Writing Course for the Reading School entrance examThe virtual creative writing course is exclusive to our Year 4 and Year 5 term time students and is taught by our experienced teacher, Anne, who has an immense passion for reading and writing and leads our Book Club, in addition to teaching 11+ courses. This option is particularly useful for boys preparing for The Reading School 11+ exam but is open to all our students.

Students attend one creative writing lesson per week on Zoom, which lasts for 45 minutes. During every lesson they participate in a fun writing skills warm-up activity which might focus on grammar or a literary device, they might read and analyse a writing example or use a story prompt, and then work on creating their own text.Marie Redmond's Superbrain® Creative Writing Notebook

Every week there is a focus which can include story settings, characters, openings, events / problems and resolutions. Students practise writing in a variety of formats such as stories, plays, newspaper articles and letters. They are taught to use a variety of literary techniques and we show them how to draft their work, as well as reviewing and editing.

Homework is set every week. Students build upon the tasks in their lesson to create their own text. The texts are then reviewed at the start of the next lesson.

One lesson per week on Zoom, lasting 45 minutes.

Fee (including books): £16.20 per lesson.

The creative writing course can be selected on the registration form when booking a term time course. Parents of existing term time students can contact us to enrol their child.

Lesson Times

The creative writing course takes place on Tuesdays during term time:

  • Group 1: 5:30-6:15pm
  • Group 2: 6:30-7:15pm

Fees

The creative writing lessons cost £16.20 each and are invoiced monthly. All resources are included.
Month Number of lessons Total fees
September 2021 1 £16.20
October 2021 3 £48.60
November 2021 5 £81
December 2021 1 £16.20
January 2022 4 £64.80
February 2022 3 £48.60
March 2022 5 £81
April 2022 1 £16.20
May 2022 4 £64.80
June 2022 4 £64.80
July 2022 2 £32.40

Creative Writing Course Term Dates

Autumn Term 2021 Spring Term 2022 Summer Term 2022
Tuesday 28th September Wednesday 5th January -
alternative day
due to bank holiday
Tuesday 26th April
Tuesday 5th October Tuesday 11th January Tuesday 3rd May
Tuesday 12th October Tuesday 18th January Tuesday 10th May
Tuesday 19th October Tuesday 25th January Tuesday 17th May
Half Term Tuesday 1st February Tuesday 24th May
Tuesday 2nd November Tuesday 8th February Half Term (no lesson)
Tuesday 9th November Tuesday 15th February Tuesday 7th June
Tuesday 16th November Half Term (no lesson) Tuesday 14th June
Tuesday 23rd November Tuesday 1st March Tuesday 21st June
Tuesday 30th November Tuesday 8th March Tuesday 28th June
Tuesday 7th December Tuesday 15th March Tuesday 5th July
Tuesday 22nd March Tuesday 12th July
Tuesday 29th March

FAQs About The Creative Writing Course

When do the lessons take place?

The creative writing lessons take place once a week during term time.

How many children attend the creative writing course?

There are a maximum of 10 students in each creative writing lesson.

What is the cost?

The fee (including resources) is £16.20 per lesson.

How will I pay?

All creative writing course payments are required by Direct Debit. We are unable to accept payment by Tax-Free Childcare or Childcare Vouchers, as this course takes place via Zoom.

Invoices are issued at the beginning of each month and due on receipt.

We email you a separate monthly invoice for the creative writing course on the 1st of each month and it will be due on receipt. The payment will cover the cost of all lessons during that month.

What is the notice period?

If you wish to cancel your child’s attendance on the creative writing course, you will need to let us know by the end of the month to cancel their attendance for the following month.

Photograph of Stephen King by Pinguino K is licenced under the Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic licence.
Exclusive tips