11 Plus Virtual Courses

Ready to give your child a helping hand in the 11 Plus?

Register now

Year 5 Virtual Lessons

Year 5 students attend two lessons per week, each lasting 1 hour and 15 minutes.  They are taken on the same day with a 30 minute break in between

Year 5 Virtual Lesson Term Dates

Spring Term 2022 Summer Term 2022 Autumn Term 2022
Tuesday 4th January in place of usual
Monday class
due to bank holiday)
No Wednesday class - starts 12th Jan
Monday 25th April
Wednesday 27th April
Monday 19th September
Wednesday 21st September
Monday 10th January
Wednesday 12th January
Tuesday 3rd May in place of usual
Monday class
due to bank holiday
Wednesday 4th May
Monday 26th September
Wednesday 28th September
Monday 17th January
Wednesday 19th January
Monday 9th May
Wednesday 11th May
Monday 3rd October
Wednesday 5th October
Monday 24th January
Wednesday 26th January
Monday 16th May
Wednesday 18th May
Monday 10th October
Wednesday 12th October
Monday 31st January
Wednesday 2nd February
Monday 23rd May
Wednesday 25th May
Monday 17th October
Wednesday 19th October
Monday 7th February
Wednesday 9th February
Half Term (no lesson) Half Term (no lesson)
Monday 14th February
Wednesday 16th February
Monday 6th June
Wednesday 8th June
Half Term (no lesson)
Half Term (no lesson) Monday 13th June
Wednesday 15th June
Monday 7th November
Wednesday 9th November
Monday 28th February
Wednesday 2nd March
Monday 20th June
Wednesday 22nd June
Monday 14th November
Wednesday 16th November
Monday 7th March
Wednesday 9th March
Monday 27th June
Wednesday 29th June
Monday 21st November
Wednesday 23rd November
Monday 14th March
Wednesday 16th March
Monday 4th July
Wednesday 6th July
Monday 28th November
Wednesday 30th November
Monday 21st March
Wednesday 23rd March
Monday 11th July
Wednesday 13th July
Monday 5th December
Wednesday 7th December
Monday 28th March
Wednesday 30th March
Summer Holidays:
2022 11+ Summer Course
Monday 12th December
Wednesday 14th December
Easter Holidays:
2022 Easter 11+ Course
Year 5 Pre-exam refresher lesson:
Monday 29th August
Wednesday 31st August

What you can expect for your child on our 11 Plus Virtual Course

We develop pupils’ knowledge so they’re equipped to answer a broad range of challenging verbal, mathematical and non-verbal reasoning questions.

Small class sizes

We have small class sizes (less than half the size of most independent school lessons), which means that your child will have valuable one-to-one attention with their fully qualified teacher. Discover the proven benefits of small class sizes.

Assessment

Your child is assessed twice during each team – at half term and at the end of term. This means that we can check they’ve achieved their individual targets and devise a Tuition Plan that suits their needs and challenges. We’ll share all assessment results and Tuition Plans with you and you’re more than welcome to discuss them with us.

Marie Redmond Tuition ‘Bag of Knowledge®’

Resource Pack for Marie Redmond Tuition 11 Plus Courses in Buckinghamshire and SloughAt the start of the course, your child will receive a Bag of Knowledge® containing their class and homework books. This includes selected Marie Redmond’s Superbrain® resources, in addition to books that are carefully curated each year from a wide range of reputable publishers. All our students are presented with their books in a Marie Redmond Tuition® rucksack, featuring an electronic thesaurus, notebook and a pencil case containing pencils, an eraser and sharpener. The cost of your child’s Bag of Knowledge® is covered within the monthly course fees.

Marie Redmond’s Superbrain®

Marie Redmond's Superbrain® Verbal Reasoning and Maths BooksOur range of Marie Redmond’s Superbrain® resources are provided exclusively to Year 5 students and will be expanding to Year 4 from September 2022.Marie Redmond's Superbrain® 11+ Flashcards packaging Using the knowledge gained during her ten years of preparing students for the 11+ and independent school entrance exams, Marie Redmond MEd has written a number of instructional verbal reasoning and maths books. The verbal reasoning holiday course books are provided exclusively to students attending our 11+ Easter and 11+ summer holiday courses; the verbal reasoning and maths books are provided exclusively to students enrolled on our Year 5 term-time courses. Marie Redmond’s Superbrain® 11 Plus Flash Cards are given to all our term time students when they join, to supercharge their vocabulary skills.

Homework

11+ homework at Marie Redmond TuitionTo help reinforce skills taught during the 11 Plus tuition course, we’ll provide homework at the end of each lesson – with reviews of each topic in the following session. This gives pupils the opportunity to ask any questions on areas they may have struggled with. As reading comprehension and vocabulary are such important parts of the 11 Plus exams, we recommend that parents encourage their children to read as wide a range of fiction and non-fiction books as possible.

The Marie Redmond Tuition® Book Club

Marie Redmond Tuition Book ClubSharing our enjoyment of books is a fantastic way to encourage reading and therefore develop vocabulary and comprehension at home. The Marie Redmond Tuition® Book Club is an excellent platform for discussions about books, opportunities for creativity and promoting reading for pleasure. Discover our book of the month.

Creative Writing Course

11+ Creative Writing Course for the Reading School entrance exam

The virtual creative writing course is taught by our experienced teacher, Anne, who has an immense passion for reading and writing and leads our Book Club, in addition to teaching 11+ courses. This option is particularly useful for boys preparing for Reading School but is open to all our students.

Students attend one creative writing lesson per week on Zoom, which lasts for 45 minutes. During every lesson they participate in a fun writing skills warm-up activity which might focus on grammar or a literary device, they might read and analyse a writing example or use a story prompt, and then work on creating their own text.

Every week there is a focus which can include story settings, characters, openings, events / problems and resolutions.Marie Redmond's Superbrain® Creative Writing Notebook Students practise writing in a variety of formats such as stories, plays, newspaper articles and letters. They are taught to use a variety of literary techniques and we show them how to draft their work, as well as reviewing and editing.

Homework is set every week. Students build upon the tasks in their lesson to create their own text. The texts are then reviewed at the start of the next lesson.

One lesson per week on Zoom, lasting 45 minutes. Tuesdays at 5.30pm or 6.30pm.

For further information, including fees, term dates and FAQ’s, please visit our creative writing course page.

Virtual 11 Plus Course Fees

We offer a straightforward monthly payment plan for our Virtual 11 Plus Courses, which you can see on our fees page.

What do the Virtual 11 Plus Courses focus on?

Verbal Skills

  • Comprehension
  • Verbal reasoning (the production of words, relationships between words, letters and numbers)
  • Vocabulary
  • Spelling
  • Grammar
  • Punctiation

Mathematical skills

  • Basic skills (addition, multiplication, division and subtraction)
  • Mental maths development
  • Problem solving techniques
  • Extracting information from graphs and tables
  • Averages
  • Foundation algebra concepts
  • Fractions, decimals and percentages
  • Ratio and proportion
  • Area and volume
  • 2d and 3d shapes

Non-verbal skills

  • Spatial awareness
  • Logical deduction skills
  • Mathematical concepts such as symmetry, rotation and reflection
  • Identifying relationships, similarities and differences between figures
  • Identifying sequences between shapes

FAQs

How will my child access their 11 Plus online lessons?

Online 11 plus tuitionLessons are taught via Zoom. Your child will need a laptop/computer and headphones. We will send you links to access each of your child’s lessons.

Will my child be able to speak to the teacher during their 11 Plus online lesson?

Yes. The lessons are interactive, so the teacher will be able to speak to the students and vice versa.

How similar are the 11 Plus online lessons compared to the usual classroom lessons?

Lessons closely follow the same format as our usual lessons. They incorporate whole-class teaching, 1 to 1 time with the teacher, independent work and games.

Exclusive tips